Early Years Foundation Stage

Early Years Foundation Stage, setting the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five. Hippitots Children’s World follows the government based framework called Early Years Foundation Stage.

As stated in the EYFS 2014 document, 'Every child deserves the best possible start to life and support to fulfil their potential. The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe.'

Practitioners aim to support each child individually to make progress at their own pace and children who need extra support to fulfill their potential will receive special consideration; the framework has a greater emphasis on the role of parent and carers in the child's development. The 7 areas of learning and development in the EYFS will guide the work of our practitioners and shape educational programmes in the setting.

There are 3 prime areas crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive: they are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional development

As children grow, the prime areas help them to develop in the 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

The 7 areas are used to plan children's learning and development, suited to children's unique needs.

Ofsted says:

“Teaching is outstanding because staff have an excellent understanding of how children learn through play and exploration” Ofsted June 2014

Ofsted ReportDisclaimer | Links